Introduction of A Curious Programmer

Hello fellow replers,

I stumbled across Replit Ask and lurked as a guest for a while despite having a Replit account. I used to have a previous account since 2017, but I deleted it when I got bored for a while… Which accidentally deleted my first ever program. If not for this site, I would have had a harder time learning CS principles early on, so I feel a nostalgic tie to this site.

Besides that, I am a CS student in third year looking at backend web development. I also enjoy looking into other topics such as interpreters and parsers. Finally, I might post more projects on replit, but it will take time for me to import projects from my GitHub. All of this comes from five years of programming under my belt.

(I prefer Java, C, and some Python for my projects.)

Hope to get to know more people here and learn even more! :smile:

8 Likes

Hey @DerkWithT welcome to the forums!

This community is very welcoming and friendly, hope you like it here!

Wow, the only languages I know are Python, HTML & CSS, and a tiny bit of C++ and JavaScript.

I have around 3+ years of typing languages.

Welcome,
SalladShooter

3 Likes

3 posts were split to a new topic: Programming language development

Welcome @DerkWithT!

:open_mouth: Wow! You’ve got to post some of them in Showcase some time.

Nonono… It’s not possible to like both JAVA (:nauseated_face:) and PYTHON…

I like C too, though :grin: I just don’t get malloc lol

5 Likes

I see why people see Java syntax as wordy (I kinda agree) and Python syntax as clean.

About C, I like its lower-level features and raw pointer use. Those two parts of the language make it feel mean and lean in my opinion. Currently, I have an interpreter in C just under half done for a language with Ruby-like syntax, no null values, and strong type checks. I’ve never done that before, so I’m hoping that it turns out OK.

3 Likes