I just created an invite link for the first time and accidentally clicked on it. However, it turns out you can actually invite yourself. After accepting, I got a notification saying that I accepted my invitation request.
I’m highly assuming this is not intended, and this has probably been a bug for a while. I used @9pfs1 invite link beforehand, so it didn’t update my user profile, but theirs shows they were invited by themselves too!
Yep, although issues with Discourse should probably be reported to Discourse. I think while it works, if you click another invite link it will change you to being invited to them (permanently) and I think it isn’t counted for badge stats, but that said I’m not sure.