Why I use Replit

I’ve been using Replit since 2020, back when I had little programming knowledge. One of my friends had been creating cool Python projects and I was interested in learning some myself. I didn’t like the idea of sharing screens and etc, and I needed something online. Replit was probably the exact match.

When I was researching, I knew of no online coding websites that had live collaboration, until I found Replit. Compared to now, Replit was a lot further down on the search list (at least on Bing) and took considerable effort to find. You'd expect a feature like multiplayer to be paywalled, but it allowed you to add up to fifty (now it's 100 I believe) other people to collaborate on a single Repl. Replit did all of the annoying work setting up your. No confusing command prompt or bash, and I didn't have to install anything. Replit has a similar interface that you might find on a well-known IDE like VSCode and allows you to by simply pressing CTRL+Enter. It wasn't complicated and cluttered with a bunch of random buttons that went completely over my head, and the options menu wasn't cluttered with a bunch of nonsense. The file manager automatically hides all the confusing files and folders that a beginner's tutorial probably won't explain, and the interface allows to you easily move around windows to your liking.

Replit also has some nice, kinda lesser-known features. Back when I was starting to learn some intermediate stuff, I found the database tool pretty useful. Secrets were also nice, allowing me to actually make some sort of high-end password system without my friends just looking at the code. A theme maker is also really nice, and the community-made themes are of good quality. The package manager is way easier to use than the shell, and it’s pretty cool to look at some of the community-made extensions similar to something such as VSCode. Best of all, RAM/CPU aren’t even a problem. My programs always run swiftly, like on an actual Windows PC.