Using Repl.it for exams

Hi All

I work as a Network Manager for a secondary school based in the UK and I am currently working with one of our exam boards, looking at a way we can run Computer Science (Python) exams on Chromebooks. We are a mainly ChromeOS school and have been using Repl.it for Computer Science lessons and would really like to be able to use Repl.it for exams as well . We can lock down the chromebooks so they can only access whitelisted URL’s but have run across a few issues. I have been trialing Repl.it teams and creating a blank Python IDE which is then shared with exam accounts. But due to needing to allow access to Google authentication sites and a few other URLS so they can login etc I can not fully lockdown the site so they can not access the help sections of the website. Just wanted to pick your brains to see if there was a way this could be done or if anyone had already put a solution in place. Thank you.

3 Likes

You can whitelist the URLs required for login in with google but block docs.google.com, drive.google.com etc so they can still log in but cant access any of that well taking the exam.

Hi Ethan

Thank you for your time. That’s how I have it setup, I am just using the url blocking section on google admin as it needs to be easily replicated for any school. But when they access the different sections of the website it will load it and they can navigate the page and it will only block it if the page is refreshed.

So the problem is that students have pages open they shouldn’t before the block is put in place so they can still look at it during the exam. Correct?