Total novice question - deployment for simple game

Hi - I am a very novice user. So please be kind! I am building something for my kids as a fun “gift” for easter. I usually do treasure hunts around the house for easter baskets but this year as they are grown and out of the house, I thought it would be a cool thing to create an old school text adventure game that simulated that experience. I dove into Python and have a working model that does all the things I want it to, but I’m stumped by the deployment process. It seems like it’s a bit more challenging than actually writing the program. I could just share my console screen, but it would be much cooler if I could give them a site to go to and play it without the noise of the code and toolbars etc.

Am I biting off more than I can chew? I certainly don’t want to buy a premium account just to run into a wall of coding I can’t quite handle.

Hey @kifscheuer welcome to the forums!

You cant deploy a console program. Since you are a beginner it would be harder to convert it to something that can be integrated into a website. I would recomend seeing if you can implement it before deploying as there are still a couple months untill easter.

3 Likes

It’s so sad. This feature was removed so you can’t do this anymore. You might just wanna sit down with them and maximize the console so it’s big screen.

You might wanna make a website instead (you can use static or autoscale deployments for it, depending on the Repl type), and then it’ll 100% be accessible on the web. Or you can just write a Batch file and run it on your computer. Or run Python on your computer.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply - can you clarify what you mean by implement before deploying? My entire program is one script. I need to tune up the features, but I was thinking I’d figure out how to get it out while also working on the details since it’s not going to change except in level of detail.