Replit for K-12: General reliability?

I work in a school district that is particularly aggressive with its web filtering rules.
Unsurprisingly, the reliability of my students’ network connections to replit has been awful and particularly awful in comparison to last year.

I am trying to determine if this year’s struggles is more the result of Replit’s own growing pains or my particular district’s new firewall policies.

Can anyone else out there speak to the performance of the Education account?
If Replit support is out there, are there steps I can suggest to my IT departmennt?

4 Likes

Hey @GusReiber welcome to the forums!

You can give this link to your IT department on how to unblock replit https://docs.replit.com/teams-edu/it-administrators-toolkit

There is the normal site (replit.com) and a firewallsed site with all the community featured removed so its only the code editor (firewalledreplit.com).

4 Likes

I have been reluctant to use the Firewall site, as I suspect it will be treated as a second-class service. Has anyone been using the Firewall site, and if so, how good is it?

4 Likes

The firewalled site is the same as the normal site but with the Community feature removed, as Ethan said. Bounties also are not accessible.

2 Likes

Thats a valid concern. I just took a quick look at it (I haven’t since it was first launched) and it has all the newest features so I don’t think it will be treated as such. I can ask Repit staff to confirm if you would like

4 Likes

sure. But is there a difference in site performance and reliability? The firewalled site could be clustered the same way as the non-firewalled or it could be clustered for less performance and reliability.

@QwertyQwerty88 have you been using the firewalled site happily?

3 Likes

Not as far as I know. I have used it a couple times just to test it out and it worked fine.

:woman_shrugging: but a staff member has been pinged so hopefully he can answer that.

2 Likes