POLL: If you could relearn programming, what would you change?

• I would follow more tutorials.
  • I would get more help when I encountered errors
  • I would self teach
  • I wouldn’t learn programming :frowning:
  • I wouldn’t change a thing

0 voters

6 Likes

Still fairly new to programming here so wouldn’t change a thing

2 Likes

Wouldn’t change a thing. I learn mostly by myself, occasionally looking stuff up on w3schools and stackoverflow, and I think that is a good fit for me.

2 Likes
  1. I am surprised that not-ethan, the person who is always #1 on the Replit Ask leaderboard, chose “I wouldn’t learn programming”.
  2. I’m pretty new to Python but am learning really quickly because it’s an actual class (I wouldn’t change a thing on that), but for HTML/CSS/JS I would have used more tutorials. My friend tried to teach me but he wasn’t a good teacher, so I learned by taking what he made and modifying it (literally trial-and-error tweaking things). Fine for HTML because it’s so simple, and CSS vocab makes sense, but it was terrible for learning JS.
3 Likes

@not-ethan not learn it at all? Why?

3 Likes

That’s what I want to know. So successful and yet would rather not be here.

2 Likes

I did it as a joke I wasn’t being serious

3 Likes

I would learn a different language and persist more. If I could start from the start again, I’d go with C++ and learn it as in-depth as possible. It’s a challenging language, but also, I reckon learning it as your first sets you up better in the future to learn simpler, less efficient, languages. It’s harder to go from languages like JavaScript and Python to C++ than vice-versa.

6 Likes

Good point. Coincedentally C++ was the first language I’ve ever learned. Looks like I learned programming the right way :upside_down_face:

3 Likes