New to Coding! Intro to bytes help needed! Python! Pybytes!

Question:

I am incredibly new to coding and also currently self taught. Learning python and am in desperate need of assistance so I can help my younger cousin with homework! We are basically learning together and are both stumped on a particular assignment with if/then statements. Help understanding what we are doing wrong and what the assertion error means would be amazing!
I’m not completely sure if I posted the snippet of code correctly so any helpful tips and hits would be welcome!
Repl link: https://replit.com/@jroman3/Ifthen-practice#main.py

def check_payday(payday):
       if check_payday == "date":
           print("Time to pay rent.")
       else:
           print("Keep calm and eat two minute noodles.")

The program you attracted has no output, could you at least configure it to have an example output please?

2 Likes

As it is an assignment that I am trying to help on, I’m honestly not all too sure what I’m looking for. But the assignment states the following:

Within the function check_payday() below:

• Write an if statement that checks to see if “date” is equal to the string “payday”.
  • If it is, then print “Time to pay rent.”
  • If it isn’t equal to payday then print “Keep calm and eat two minute noodles.”
  • Hint: Remember your indentation!

I feel like the error may be in line 1 of the code but again I’m not sure! Thank you for such a quick reply! I’m sorry that I’m a noob and don’t fully know what you need in order for you to best help haha

Welcome to the forums, @jroman3!

I really don’t think you should be posting your school / uni assignments to this forum. It’s not right to expect others to do the work for you and your tutor will not understand how to help you if you are submitting work from someone else.

Please feel free to post questions that will help you understand the building blocks of programs, but don’t post tasks again.

1 Like