Move from scratch to replit for making games

hello, i know this is about posting errors about the project you are making, but i joined today and i am new. i am a normal skilled coder and only made projects on scratch. i want to make a game but i need help making it because i don’t know all this “real code” stuff as only i make stuff on scratch

For games, thats going to be a big jump, since the the only thing “real code” gives you is text, no automatic game engine ( Like scratch has sprites and backgrounds, “Real code” does not have that right away). Scratch will give you the basic coding concepts, but the “Game” aspect of it does not help as much. I recommend learning the basics of language before making a game, I would recommend learning python, which there are lot’s of tutorials for on google.

3 Likes

I’d recommend learning C# (&& C++ if you can) so you can create games using Unity. But if you’re looking for an easy to learn programming language, I’d recommend Python. There’s a course for it on Replit!

5 Likes

If you’re a beginner to “real coding”, I would recommend you start off with Python and Pygame. You can find some tutorials here.

4 Likes

I recommend: Python, C++, CSS + HTML, for great firsts, depending on the path.

Front-end/web:
CSS + HTML (as starting)

Back-end:
Python

Software:
C++

1 Like

You can use C++ as a backend?

1 Like

If you’re used to scratch, I would highly recommend kaboom.js. It uses JavaScript (Which scratch uses), has it’s own sprite system, and uses english language, like if and do. Not only that but it’s incredibly easy to do. (Might I add that It’s faster than pygame in most scenarios.) However, that’s for game development. A good all round language would be python or plain JavaScript.

4 Likes

Kind of, nevermind its better for software.

1 Like

I’ve also seen people recommending C++ to start with as it gives more complex start and better understanding,