Is it possible to install ubuntu libraries?

Hello,

I’m new to Replit. Just curious how to go about doing this within my Replit…

sudo apt install libgssapi-krb5-2

The lib is missing, so when I try and import PySide2 into a python replit, it fails.

Thanks!

Welcome to the community! using the sudo command isn’t allowed in replit. if you are trying to install a python library, use pip

1 Like

Thank you. Yes – I tried using sudo and failed. Since sudo is not permitted, I assumed there is some other method of installing that particular library. I’m posting here, looking for an alternative method.

To be clear, it’s not a python lib.

1 Like

An update to this thread.

I tried using this command to install the library, but the feedback was that it wasn’t familiar with the flag --install-as-user
nix-env -i --install-as-user libgssapi-krb5-2

So I removed --install-as-user and tried again, but after a long while, the process running in the shell was killed, and no output was displayed.

Finally I tried running this one…
nix-env --verbose -i libgssapi-krb5-2

And then I got this warning… lol. Hopefully, I didn’t break anything I wasn’t supposed to.

1 Like

@Tuckz79 I tried the same thing just to see what would happen and got that message too. As it turns out it violates Terms of Service 4.14, which says:

1. Launch any automated system, including without limitation, “robots”, “spiders”, or “offline readers” that access the Service in a manner that sends more request messages or any other content to the Replit servers in a given period of time than a human can reasonably produce in the same period by using a conventional online web browser

Obviously it’s not a spider or robots or something else that requested Replit, it was a simple command.
So I think the command requested Replit servers so many times that the Repl was forced to stop

Hey Gavin,

Thanks for confirming that. I suspected that was the violation item I was triggering.