I need a newbie's introduction to junit: What does jUnit actually do?

I am just starting out in Teams for Education. I notice that there are some useful assessment tools to test for I/O and stuff, and I am interested in the Unit tests, since I would like to test my student’s functions for boundary conditions and the like.

However, I have no idea what the intent is of jUnit. So, I will submit my use case, and you can tell me if this is do-able.

A student in grade 10, who isn’t yet making their own classes, creates functions in replit which return a value. Of course they are writing these in class Main, and are told to declare them as “public static” before their return type.

Can I test those functions in jUnit? I would suppose that I have to declare a “Main” object variable with something like

Main m = new Main();
// Main has a public static int function called x
int q = m.x(99); // call a function x inside of Main.

… to call the functions inside of it. Is anything I am saying on the same planet as anyone else who is properly using jUnit? Otherwise, what is jUnit good for?

I have no clue about jUnit, and its documentation appears to lack a brief summary of what it is meant to test and who would be interested in using it, so I would appreciate a “basic-level” answer. The above code would work well for a testbed, but I would have to copy/paste it into each one of my student’s projects. I am hoping that jUnit would automate this, but my attempts at doing the same thing under jUnit have failed.

Paul

You are barking up the right tree here. If you have ever used codingbat, you will understand the value of JUnit. You create tests, which the students run to check their code for correct output. Example: Run the method named add with the arguments 2 and 3. If the method returns the value 5, you pass the test. If it returns any other value, you fail the test.