General knowledge help regarding structs, functions and arrays

I’m new to coding, and I just need general knowledge help regarding structs, functions, and arrays, my lecturer is not exactly being very helpful.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hey, welcome to the community! @sonicx180

I don’t know a lot about C++, nor about where to learn it, but if you have any specific questions, for example why your code isn’t working, you can post them in #code-help:c!

4 Likes

I’ll just step in here @prisems can help :smiley:

1 Like

Welcome to the community!

What about structs, functions and arrays do you need clarification on?

For some information, W3Schools is a great resource for beginners and provides simple documentation with examples for many languages.

My C++ is a little rusty so probably double-check everything I say. Also my explanations probably aren’t the best so hopefully my examples or W3Schools will make it clearer.

I’ve just breezed over each topic generally (and pretty terribly to be honest), there is tons to learn about each so specifics would definitely help so that me or someone else can go in-depth on what specifically you want to know/learn.

Structs

Structs act as a static object or a fake ‘data type’. You can use them to group together data in structures (hence the name… I’m pretty sure). Structs are created using the struct keyword followed by, optionally a name for the struct, then a pair of curly braces ({}), and optionally the names of variables you’d like to create using the said struct.

// a simple car struct with no name
struct {
	int year;
	string brand;
	char[6] numberplate;
} car;

// using the struct
car.year = 1999;
car.brand = "Toyota";
car.numberplate = { 'A', 'B', 'C', '1', '2', '3' };

// you can create structs from the same struct by separating them with commas
struct {
	int year;
	string brand;
	char[6] numberplate;
} car1, car2, car3;