Difficulties with basic coding setup

I’m trying to follow a skillshare coding course (I’m brand new to python!). I’m trying to write some basic code in a file and have it run in the console. After the code runs, nothing appears, contrary to what the coding course shows.

The code:

def mul3(x):
  return x * 3

After running this code, the instructor is able to use the function in the console, I however am not able to type anything into the console.

There are a ton of people trying to troubleshoot this problem in the course discussion, none of us have been able to crack it.

Any help from the repl.it community would be amazing!

Thanks in advance,
Mitch

for the record, I’ve also included 2 spaces before “return x*3”

Hello and welcome to Replit Ask. :wave:

From what I can gather it seems that you want to have something like this :

x = float(input("Enter a value for x "))
def mul3(x):
  return x * 3
print(mul3(x))

I’ll try to break it down piece by piece.

First, what you have so far is fine and doesn’t need to be changed but there needs to be more added to it. Basically you’re telling the computer how to do something but you’re never telling it to actually do it.

To make the computer actually run the function you defined, we have to also call the function:

def mul3(x):
  return x * 3
mul3(1) #This is the part that calls the function

However, this still will not display anything to the console until we print it

to print it to the console we just change it to print(mul3(1))

so

def mul3(x):
  return x * 3
print(mul3(1))

Now you’ll see that it is actually multiplying x, (in this case 1,) and 3 and then printing the product to the console:

However, since you said

I’m assuming that you’re supposed to be able to change the value of x in the console?
To do this we would use an int or float input, (which just means we’re going to ask the user for a whole number or a number with a decimal) :

x = float(input("Enter a number > "))
def mul3(x): 
  return x * 3