Console issue with replit

Does anyone know how to type in the console on replit? part of my project requires making a new file and then code. Once all of that is done, my prof tells us to “Press the run button, then enter java Exercise 1 in the console”. When i get to this part, the run feature only lasts 5 seconds (even if im fast enough to type out java Exercise 1 nothing happens.) please help.

1 Like

Hey @Dylan223!

You can use a prybar template (a Repl template) or you can type it in the shell. I hope this helps!

@SalladShooter I’m still kind of new to coding and my prof isnt the best, what do you mean i can use a repl template? also i tried tying java Exercise1 Java Exercise1 and even javaExercise1 into the shell. The console runs then nothing prints.

java Exercise1 will attempt to execute Exercise1.class, java Exercise1.java executes the source file Exercise1.java (has limitations). Use the shell for this.
javac Exercise1.java will compile it into Exercise1.class
If it is executing but your Exercise1.javawas blank it will be a no-op.

2 Likes

I see you made another topic that I presume contains the repl you are using. Simply execute with java Exercise1 then in the initial directory of the shell.

1 Like

Can you explain it a bit further? My prof is telling us to use the main.java (replits default repl when creating a js repl) then create a another file Exercise1.java. do i need to copy the code to the main.java file? If not how would i go about using the shell or console (this is my first time doing something like this)

Im still lost, can you explain it simpler? Sorry this is my first time doing something like this and my prof wont tell me how to get the print statement to work

Hello @Dylan223!

Instead of pressing the Run button, run javac path/to/filename.java && java filename in the shell.

2 Likes