Code help- absolute beginner

I’m an absolute beginner and I cannot figure out how to make it so they can choose to enter the game or not. I tried using a list but for some reason even if you type in something from the list of Yes answers it gives the answer of it not being something recognised.

https://replit.com/@lsabi1/Project2024PI-rateHeroes

This is your current code:

event = 1
Openingchoices = ["Yes","yes","Yea","yea","Yup","yup","yeah","Yeah","Sure","sure",]
Openingchoices2 = ["No","no","Nah","nah","Nope","nope",]
while event == 1:
 enterGame = input("Would you like to enter the game? \n")
 if enterGame == Openingchoices:
   print ("Welcome to π-rate Heroes! \n ")
 elif enterGame == Openingchoices2:
   print("Sad to see you go. :(")
   quit()
 else:
  print("I don't understand please try again.")
  event = 1
  quit()

The problem is that you are trying to compare a string, enterGame, to a list (such as Openingchoices). Lists are never equal to strings.
What you meant to use was to check if the string is in the list.

if enterGame in Openingchoices:

There are also many other tips and improvements. Follow the snake_case naming convention for most variables, use either 2 or 4 width space indentation, clean the user’s input, and use sys.exit() (must be imported) or let the program reach the end of the file instead of using quit().

# no need for 'event' variable because it is currently useless
yes_opening_choices = ["yes","yea","yup","yeah","sure",]
no_opening_choices = ["no","nah","nope",]
while True:
  opening_choice = input(
    "Would you like to enter the game? \n"
  ).strip().lower()  # makes it case-insensitive and ignores leading and trailing whitespace
  if opening_choice in yes_opening_choices:
    print("Welcome to π-rate Heroes!\n")
  elif opening_choice in no_opening_choices:
    print("Sad to see you go. :(")
    break  # breaks out of the current loop
  else:
    print("I don't understand please try again.")