Always On Repls feature?

Hi. I’m totally new to Replit. I’m on a free plan right now. I’m wondering if the free plan means the bot that I created isn’t live 24 hours since there’s a “Always On Repls” feature? If so, how many hours a day is it live? I’m asking this because I’m using the bot to alert trading signals. Thus, it’s vital that I do not miss any alerts. I’m wondering if the free plan will do or if I should buy Cycles.

Thanks

1 Like

Hey @Mac79 welcome to the forums.

Can you please elaborate on what you are trying to figure out.

Your bot would be up as long as the tab on repl is open and you are running the script. If the page gets unloaded your repl will shut down.

1 Like

Hi @Mac79 does this doc help? https://docs.replit.com/hosting/enabling-always-on

1 Like

Hey @Mac79 welcome!

Always on will let you repls stay up 24/7. It is a great feature for hackers and for cycles owners! There are some great tutorials out there to keep you bot alive with some import (a bunch of them) I personally recommend the 24/7 feature because it always keeps alive your reply + it is reliable and secure! If you don’t want to buy the hacker plan you could buy cycles which are very cheap!

1 Like

Hi Ian. Thank you for the link. It’s very helpful. Regarding this…

"Always On does not extend your Repl’s lifetime, and all Repls are subject to go to sleep at any time. However, Always On will immediately run your Repl again whenever this happens. "

1. Does my Repl have an expiration date? If so, can I check?
  2. If the Repl goes to sleep, how soon does Always On run my Repl again. Within seconds or something like that?

I’m just asking because I need it to be as reliable as possible. I’m probably gonna purchase some Cycles so I can use this feature. I’d like to know set my expectations regarding the reliability of the bot.

Thanks!