A quick introduction to Python

Hello!

Have you noticed that most tutorials online take you from a complete beginner to actually writing some code? That’s great! It introduces new people to programming.

And that’s exactly the problem for people coming from different languages, who already have a programming background. Now, you could just watch the whole twelve-hour tutorial and learn the language like that, but it would most likely just be a recap of stuff you know, in a different language. That’s why I hardly ever learn new languages because I want to quickly consume the language’s features without listening to a fifteen-minute talk about what each feature does.

So, I am making this guide as a way for programmers that already know other languages, to quickly get a rundown of Python’s features so they can get to writing more advanced code faster.

Because of the sheer amount of instruction on this topic, it will likely contain many errors. Feel free to contribute and add any information I missed or correct some redundancy.

Let’s begin!

Python is an object-oriented language, and it does not require semicolons, it does not use static types and is more geared toward beginner programmers and data science. It can be used for back-end, front-end, and even game development to some extent.

I am not going to go over installing Python, but if you want to learn on your local machine instead of Replit, you can download it from python.org.

Printing to the console is very simple compared to languages like C++, and can be done like so:

print("Hello, world!")

Escape sequences like \n and \t can be used within strings, and strings can be shown in multiple ways. If your coming from a language like Java, the char type no longer exists, and Python allows you to use either " " or ' ' when creating strings. Multiline screens can be created like so, and are pretty useful in certain scenarios.

print("""I
am
multiline!
""")